Transformational- that is how I will remember tonight. When I find time to write words that give justice to what my just happened, I will publish it. Andrew Marin represented Christ well in his sermon, and I am so thankful for the time we had together.

BRIEF NOTE: I am reblogging this post because it includes a reflection of what the Marin Foundation means to me. My fellow runaways and I have experienced some cut-deep moments from the (capital C) Church, they are real and must be discussed. But the intro to this post doesn’t reflect the church I now attend. The church that showed up tonight.The pastor that prayed with his congregants for repentance over the pain they have caused the gay community.. Reconciliation is gorgeous.

Registered Runaway

Image

Uncle Tom’s Cabin

Among many things that have captivated my attention in this book is it’s handling of Christian theology in relation to slavery.

Here we find George, a runaway slave. In this scene, his former employer, Mr. Wilson, recognized George inside a hotel lobby and promptly approached him, asking if he would accompany him to his room to have a little chat. Mr. Wilson is a good man, but he fears that George is going against God and country, and thus requires his guidance.

First he tries logic.

Then he tries scripture.

“But you know how the angel commanded Hagar to return to her mistress, and submit herself under her hand; and the apostle sent back Onesimus to his master.”

“Don’t quote Bible at me that way Mr. Wilson,” said George, with a flashing eye, “don’t! for my wife is A Christian and I mean to be, if ever…

View original post 860 more words

Leave a Reply

